Montana law requires that all drivers carry at least a minimum level of liability insurance on any registered vehicle. Yet, some motorists choose not to obey this law and drive on the state's roadway without insurance.
According to information on the Montana Department of Justice website, accidents that involve drivers who are underinsured or uninsured cost insurance companies and motorists millions of dollars annually. In an attempt to battle this problem, the Montana imposes fines and other penalties on motorists who are caught driving without proper insurance. The following is a list of those fines and penalties.
- A first-time offender will be issued a citation costing from $250 to $500, or a jail sentence of as much as 10 days in duration.
- A second-time offender will receive a citation costing no less than $350, or a jail sentence of 10 days in duration. The offender's driver's license shall be suspended for a period of 90 days. Five points will be added to the offender's driving record.
- A third-time offender will face a $500 fine, or a jail sentence of as long as 6 months in duration, or both a fine and a jail sentence.
But even though the state doles out penalties to those caught behind the wheel without proper auto insurance, the problem still exists. It is an unfair fact of life that uninsured and underinsured drivers cost insured drivers money. Perhaps the best defense insured drivers have is to add uninsured driver coverage to their policies.
Unfortunately, sometimes insurance companies will not pay claims for accidents caused by uninsured drivers, even if the policyholder has the added coverage. If you have been in an accident involving an uninsured or underinsured driver, you may wish to get in touch with a motor vehicle accident attorney. It is possible that having strong legal representation when filing a claim will motivate an insurance company to offer a fair compensation.